Limit BuddyPress community features for Logout users

BuddyPress community

When someone creates a profile on a BuddyPress powered WordPress website. BuddyPress Community websites provide its users with a dedicated profile URL. It displays their recent activities and uploaded media stream and all profile information. BuddyPress provides all the community features to its users and the only major issue is its public. The search engine can index them which is the major security concern. If someone knows your profile URL he can directly access the page without even log in to the site.

Last year I have worked on Plugin BuddyPress lock . BuddyPress Lock basically allows the administrator to lock certain parts of their site. It helps to create private BuddyPress community by locking certain BuddyPress Components, WordPress Pages, Custom Post Types for public view without using any membership plugin. If a logout user tries to access the profile page directly from the BuddyPress User Profile URL. You can set the custom message for the guest visitors or provide the visitor a login and registration forms. Only after being registered as a user and login visitor can see the profile information.

With BuddyPress Private Community pro plugin you can do a lot more to make your community secure and protect your community members data private. The plugin is very useful to Protect your user’s privacy rights.

features of BuddyPress Community Pro Plugin

  1. Limit BuddyPress community features for Logout users.
  2. You have a specific choice which BuddyPress component must be disabled/enabled.
  3. Remove all admin from BuddyPress members Directory or remove users based on their usernames.
  4. Easily remove testers or some specific users from BuddyPress member directory.
  5. Profile Progression: Display profile progress bar.
  6. Optional: User profile completeness percentage to get listed in BuddyPress member directory.
  7. Enable profile visibility settings at Member’s Profile Settings to make profile Private
  8. Limit BuddyPress Components based on user role or specific user, e.g. Subscriber cannot send Private messages.
  9. Enable profile visibility settings at Member’s Profile Settings to make profile Private

Along with them one of the most common requests inside the BuddyPress support forums is to remove admin
or some testers or users from the member directory. We have included a simple option for it.

Here are Settings

For Logged out users

BuddyPress Community
VISITORS SETTING

Lock BuddyPress Components– In this setting, if you want you can enable the option so that logged-in users will not be able to access BuddyPress components.

Select components to lock– in this option you can select the BuddyPress components that you wish to restrict access for logged out users.

Lock custom post types- In this settings if you want you can enable the option so that logged-in users will not be able to access custom post types pages.

Lock Pages- In this setting if you want you can enable the option so that logged-in users will not be able to access WordPress pages.

Custom Restriction message- In this setting, only logged members are allowed to access it.

 

BuddyPress Private Community Pro also allows you to control Group features in a more better way; it will add options to limit excessive Group Creation, Group Joining and also how many members a group can have maximum.

For Logged- in users 

BuddyPress community
LOGGED IN USERS

Remove Admin roles from members directory- With this feature, you can remove all the admin user in one single click. Or you can also remove users based on their usernames.

Remove users from member directory list- In this setting, you have an option to select the user’s names as per your need that will not be shown in them ember directory list.

Display profile Progress bar- You can You have a specific choice which BuddyPress component must be disabled/enabled.

User profile completeness percentage to get listed in BuddyPress member directory- If someone has 20% of profile completion he/she will not be listed inside the member directory. That will force the user to list inside the BuddyPress member directory first.

Enable profile visibility settings at the front end- You can enable profile visibility settings at Member’s Profile >> Settings to make profile Private.

Lock Buddypress Activites- In this settings you have an option to enable and disable the users that will not be able to access marked BuddyPress components.

Member Groups

BuddyPress Members Group
These Settings are only for logged-in users for Limiting Member Groups

 

A number of groups a member can create- This setting restricts members to create an only specified number of groups.

A number of groups a member can join- In this settings, members are restricted to join an only specified number of groups.

Limit number of member per group- This feature will add options to limit excessive Group Creation, Group Joining and also how many members a group can have maximum. The spamming issue is related to BuddyPress groups. With the help of this feature, you can stop spamming. You have the option to limit how many groups a member can create. How many Groups a member can join.

 

We are also planning to add role base choices for the group creation in our coming updates

You can also check out the video here.

 

To know, how to create a community Social Network Websites on WordPress using BuddyPress. You can check out here  or https://business.tutsplus.com/tutorials/what-is-buddypress-how-to-set-up-and-use-it-right–cms-27443 I have worked on several BuddyPress add-on plugins like BuddyPress Polls and more. Along with that, you can check out Ultimate BuddyPress Community Theme Reign  Checkout the BuddyPress Demo and Sandbox Demo.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Varun Dubey

Varun Dubey

Varun Dubey